Preparing my next lino cut …

Animals, Lino, Mono printing, nature, Printing, Textures, Uncategorized

This sketch outline is of a friend’s cat – a ginger and white long-haired puddy cat that is so pretty I just wanted to capture it forever in print.

On this occasion I’m using soft white lino. I prefer it (although it’s more expensive) as it doesn’t crumble so easily and is more flexible to manipulate.

20140810-211651-76611950.jpg

Returning to gelliplate printing … I thought I’d show you all a couple of prints I made today which took several layers of inking from the plate to build up the print. Managed to get my twelve-year-old to have a go after I’d finished too.

20140810-211850-76730939.jpg
This leopard was created using a masking template of ripping up textured paper that I had previously used for another print. Some of the dotty texture transferred from the paper to the gelliplate and back to the paper again. I then added a fine outline using a brown fine liner pen just to give the cat a bit of an outline.

20140810-212135-76895268.jpg
This is a print from the textured paper which was applied to the plate after it had been inked up, then removed. The impression left in the gelliplate then transferred over to the paper.

Leave a Reply

