A productive day … and fun in the auction house

life, Printing, Textures, Uncategorized

Today I went to auction again, this time because my son was selling some boxed Star Wars figures and needed some funds for uni.  It was interesting because of the range of Lots in the auction rooms and there was an eclectic mix of people bidding.  Hard to tell, how much the figures were going to go for, yet there were boxed collector cars, stamp collections, boxes of postcards and children’s toys also on offer.  I found a tall draw chest that I had plans to bid on which had an estimate of £10 on the lower end of bidding.  It started a lot higher, so I opted for a desk that would provide me with more working space. When I’d won the bid  I watched with amusement as the auctioneer cocked his head to read my bidding number card, which I hadn’t realised I was holding upside down!  Last time I went there (my first auction visit in twenty-four years, he winked at me when I won the bid for the cast iron press – clearly seeing how delighted I was!).

When we returned home after a successful sale, my son helped me move the furniture and my cast iron printing press into the newly decorated shed that my OH has been working on while I’ve been working in the city.

I picked up a bargain table/desk with shallow drawer for under £30 and now have somewhere to store my papers flat and keep them dry (a complete contrast to when they were in the covered yard which had a leaky roof!).

These are some of the images I took from the day, including some gelliplate nature printing and the discovery of the remains of a wasps’ nest inside one of the drawers in the yard (which I thought looked a bit like a little rose)

DSC05062 DSC05063 DSC05065 DSC05110 DSC05066 DSC05108

Leave a Reply

